Minutes of the Meeting of Council Organizational Meeting January 2, 2024

Mayor Craig A. Stough called the Organizational Meeting of Council for the 2024 – 2025 term to order on Tuesday, January 2, 2024 at 7:15 p.m. Present were: Mark Frye, Doug Haynam, Brian McCann, Patrick Richardson, Lyndsey Stough, Marcus Hansen, and Mary Westphal.

Call to Order.

City of Sylvania Law Director, Leslie Brinning administered the Oath of Office to the Council Members-Elect who were duly elected at the General Election on November 7, 2023, and not previously sworn–in: Mark Frye, Doug Haynam, Brian McCann and Lyndsey Stough. Immediately thereafter the members signed written Oaths of Office for filing with the Director of Finance.

Council members sworn in.

Mr. Frye moved, Mrs. Westphal seconded that Council hereby determines it is duly constituted of elected and qualified members consisting of Mark Frye, Marcus Hansen, Douglas Haynam, Brian McCann, Patrick Richardson, Lyndsey Stough, and Mary Westphal; roll call vote being, Frye, Hansen, Haynam, Westphal, McCann, Richardson, Stough, (7) yeas; (0) nays. The motion carried.

Council duly constituted of elected and qualified members.

Mayor Stough stated that Council will now consider the selecting of the Office of President of Council for the 2024-2025 term. Mr. Haynam moved, Mr. McCann seconded, to nominate Mark Frye as President of Council; roll call vote being: Frye, Hansen, Westphal, Haynam, McCann, Richardson, Stough, (7) yeas; (0) nays. The motion carried.

Mark Frye elected President of Council for the 2024-2025 term.

Mr. Frye presented the list of Committee and Community Organization Assignments for 2024-2025.

2024-2025 Committee & Community Organization Assignments.

ANNEXATION & ZONING

Doug Haynam, Chair Marcus Hansen Lyndsey Stough Mary Westphal

BUILDINGS & GROUNDS

Lyndsey Stough, Chair Mark Frye Marcus Hansen Patrick Richardson

EMPLOYEE & COMM. RELATIONS

Mary Westphal, Chair Marcus Hansen Doug Haynam Patrick Richardson

FINANCE

Mark Frye, Chair Doug Haynam Patrick Richardson Mary Westphal

Minutes of the Meeting of Council January 2, 2024

PARKS & FORESTRY

SAFETY Marcus Hansen, Chair Mark Frye, Chair Doug Haynam Brian McCann Brian McCann Lyndsey Stough Mary Westphal Lyndsey Stough

STREETS

<u>UTILITIES & ENVIRONMENT</u> Patrick Richardson, Chair Brian McCann, Chair Doug Haynam Mark Frye Marcus Hansen Brian McCann Mary Westphal Patrick Richardson

SYLVANIA AREA JOINT RECREATION DISTRICT

Mary Westphal

HERITAGE SYLVANIA

Lyndsey Stough

SISTER CITIES COMMISSION

Patrick Richardson

SYLVANIA COMMUNITY SERVICES

Doug Haynam

SYLVANIA PREVENTION ALLIANCE

Brian McCann

DOWNTOWN SYLVANIA ASSOCIATION

Mark Frye

SYLVANIA ARTS COMMISSION

Marcus Hansen

Mr. Frye moved, Mrs. Westphal seconded to confirm the Council Committee and Community Organization Assignments as presented by Mr. Frye; roll call vote being, Frye, Hansen, Haynam, McCann, Richardson, Stough, Westphal (7) yeas; (0) nays. The motion carried.

Minutes of the Meeting of Council January 2, 2024

Mayor Stough stated that this concludes the Organizationa	l Meeting of Council for the
2024-2025 term. Mr. Frye moved, Mr. McCann seconded,	that this meeting adjourn;
all present voting yea (7); (0) nays. The motion carried and	the meeting adjourned at
7:23 p.m.	
Clerk of Council Mayor	